Caribbean Regional Seminar,
AM Meeting

2024 Caribbean Regional Seminar on Decolonization Concludes in Caracas with Consensus around Principle of Self-Determination

(Received from a UN Information Officer.)

CARACAS, 16 May – The 2024 Caribbean Regional Seminar on Decolonization concluded today with “consensus around the principle of self-determination and sovereignty and independence”.  This was according to Yvan Gil Pinto, Minister of the People’s Power for Foreign Affairs of Venezuela.

He noted the importance of the discussions held during the Seminar.  “We need to tell the world that colonialism and neocolonialism are things which are an affront to the UN Charter,” he said.

The Seminar, organized by the Special Committee on the Situation with regard to the Implementation of the Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples (also known as the Special Committee of 24 or as “C-24”), was held from 14 to 16 May within the framework of the Fourth International Decade for the Eradication of Colonialism (2021-2030).  This year’s theme was “Pursuing goals and addressing needs of the Non-Self-Governing Territories”.

Menissa Rambally (Saint Lucia), Chair of the Special Committee on Decolonization, said the Seminar was a reminder of the importance of the mandate entrusted to the Committee.  She highlighted that the Seminar was held in the framework of the International Week of Solidarity with the Peoples of Non-Self-Governing Territories, 25-31 May.  She also expressed her prayers for peace, stability and security for the people of New Caledonia.

During the final session, the participants adopted the Seminar’s procedural report (document CRS/2024/CRP.4), including the draft resolution expressing appreciation to the Government and people of Venezuela as host.  The Seminar’s Rapporteur, Fred Sarufa (Papua New Guinea), presented both documents.

There was also agreement on the draft conclusions and recommendations of the Seminar, which will be presented for consideration and adoption at the Committee’s substantive session in June 2024.

There are 17 Non-Self-Governing Territories under the purview of the Special Committee:  American Samoa, Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands (Malvinas)*, French Polynesia, Gibraltar, Guam, Montserrat, New Caledonia, Pitcairn, Saint Helena, Tokelau, Turks and Caicos Islands, United States Virgin Islands and Western Sahara.  The administering Powers are France, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States.

About the C24

Since the 1990s, the Special Committee on Decolonization (C-24) has been organizing regional seminars, alternately in the Caribbean and the Pacific, to review the progress achieved in the implementation of the Plan of Action for the International Decade for the Eradication of Colonialism.

The purpose of the regional seminars is to enable the C-24 to obtain the views of the Non-Self-Governing Territories, experts, members of the civil society, Member States and other stakeholders that can assist the C-24 in identifying means that can be pursued in the United Nations decolonization process.


*  A dispute exists between the Governments of Argentina and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Malvinas).

For information media. Not an official record.