Secretary-General Announces Barbados, Canada Prime Ministers as New Co-Chairs of Sustainable Development Goals Advocates Group

Amidst the growing number of development crises facing the world, United Nations Secretary-General António Guterres announced Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley of Barbados and Prime Minister Justin Trudeau of Canada today as new Co‑Chairs of the Sustainable Development Goals Advocates group.

“The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are the world’s blueprint to build a healthier, greener and sustainable future by 2030,” said the Secretary-General, emphasizing:  “With the clock ticking and multiple crises driving us further off track, we must do everything in our power to deliver the SDGs.”  He added:  “I’m pleased that Prime Minister Mottley and Prime Minister Trudeau will help lead advocacy to do just that.”

Prime Minister Mottley has campaigned extensively for climate action and debt sustainability in middle-income countries and small States.  In 2021, she was awarded the Champions of the Earth Award for her leadership.  “Let us seize the moment to move forward, together, to ensure the full implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development by the end of the Decade of Action and Delivery on the Sustainable Development Goals,” she said.

Prime Minister Trudeau has been a strong advocate for climate action and nature protection, the empowerment of women and girls around the world, and ensuring an inclusive and resilient recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic.  “To build a better future for people and the planet, we must all place the values of inclusion and sustainability at the heart of everything we do,” he emphasized.  “The 17 Sustainable Development Goals aim to create a world that is fair, equal and peaceful, with clean air and clean water for everyone, he said, adding:  ”As Co-Chair of the SDG Advocates group, I look forward to rallying countries, Governments, the private sector and others to come together to accelerate our progress and continue to raise our voices — and our ambition — on the path to 2030.”

The SDG Advocates are influential leaders who support the Secretary-General in raising global ambition and action to keep the promise of the SDGs.  Its previous Co-Chairs, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of Ghana and former Prime Minister Erna Solberg of Norway, have led the group since 2016 and 2014, respectively.  The Secretary-General has thanked them for putting the SDGs on the global political agenda.

President Akufo-Addo and former Prime Minister Solberg will remain engaged as Co-Chairs of the SDG Advocates Emeritus Group, alumni Advocates who continue to support realization of the SDGs.

SDG Advocates

  • Queen Mathilde of the Belgians
  • Muhammadu Sanusi II, 14th Emir of Kano
  • Sheikha Moza bint Nasser of Qatar
  • BLACKPINK, K-pop Girl Group
  • Richard Curtis, Screenwriter, Producer and Film Director
  • Hindou Ibrahim, Activist for Climate Action and Indigenous Rights
  • Graça Machel, Founder and Chair of the Board, Graça Machel Trust
  • Dia Mirza, Actor, United Nations Environment Programme Goodwill Ambassador
  • Valentina Muñoz Rabanal, STEM Activist
  • Edward Ndopu, Public Intellectual, Humanitarian and Founder of A BILLION REASONS
  • Jeffrey Sachs, Director, Earth Institute at Colombia University
  • Kailash Satyarthi, Nobel Peace Laureate, Founder of Kailash Satyarthi Children’s Foundation
  • Brad Smith, President, Microsoft Corporation
  • Forest Whitaker, Founder and CEO, Whitaker Peace & Development Initiative, UNESCO Special Envoy for Peace and Reconciliation

Social Media

Please follow @SDGAdvocates for information and updates using hashtag #SDGs and #GlobalGoals.

For information media. Not an official record.